Review: Second Chance Brides by Vickie McDonough

Second Chance Brides by Vickie McDonough is the second book in the Texas Boardinghouse Brides series.
This book is one of McDonough’s best ever.  The cover on the book pulls you into the story. The cover artist caught the essence of the characters, Shannon O’Neil and Mark Corbett translating them into real people for me.
Shannon and Leah Bennett were caught in the Corbett brother’s scheme to find a wife for their cousin. (The Anonymous Bride, Book 1) Both have reasons for not returning to where they came from. Shannon is an Irish immigrant and now she’s alone in Lookout, Texas.  Leah’s dad tried to sell her to the oldest man in town and she doesn’t want to go back home.
Now both women are searching for ways to support themselves in Lookout.
Shannon and Leah are easy to like, McDonough has transformed them from the needy women in book one to women you want to know.
There is also the subplot of Jack (Jacqueline is the boarding house owner’s daughter) it’s been fun to watch her mature through the pages.
Now I am eagerly awaiting book 3, I don’t know what it is titled but I hope it’s about that incorrigible  Carly from The Anonymous Bride!
Backcover copy
Single and Stranded in Lookout, Texas
After a mail-order bride debacle, both Shannon O’Neil and Leah Bennett find themselves stranded in Texas. There are only two options available to them: get a job or find another man to marry.
The Corbett brothers, Garret and Mark, try to atone for the mess they created when they ordered their cousin three mail-order brides by hosting Saturday socials for the town’s eligible singles.
Will Shannon, the Irish immigrant, be wooed out of her timidity by the gallant rancher Rand Kessler? Or will Mark Corbett recognize something special in her green eyes?
When the livery owner comes to Leah’s rescue, will she find a diamond in the rough? Or snub him and seek out a more well-do-do man?
The Lookout citizens are in for a wild ride before wedding bells toll again in town.

About Diana Brandmeyer

Christian author Diana Lesire Brandmeyer writes historical and contemporary romances set from the Midwest to the Mountains. She’s written Mind of Her Own, Frontier Legacy Brides, Small Town Brides, and A Time for Love, among others. Once widowed and now remarried she writes with humor and experience on the difficulty of joining two families be it fictional or real life. *affiliate links are used on this site. It won't cost you more but those extra pennies keep me stocked in tea, thank you!

5 comments / Add your comment below

  1. Vickie!!! I love it that it's going to be Jack's story! I had thought that would be a good one, but logically thought it would have to be Carly. Can't wait to read it.

  2. Diana,

    Thanks so much for the wonderful review! And you'll be happy to know that Jack gets her own book in Finally A Bride. It's set ten years later than the first two books. Jack experiences first love, but she still gets in plenty of predicaments.

  3. Diana,

    Thanks for the wonderful review of Second Chance Brides. The third book in the Texas Boardinghouse Brides series is called Finally A Bride, and it's set ten years later than the first two books. It's Jack's story as she struggles to become a young lady and experiences first love. She stills gets herself in crazy predicaments though. 🙂

  4. Thanks for stopping by Jeanette. I love the mail-order bride thing too. I wonder if I would have been brave enough to try that. Probably not.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.